Impatience: It’s My Style!

True confession.

I am impatient. Always have been, don’t see it changing any time soon.

True confession number two.

I wear my emotions on my face. If it was a disorder it could be called facial expression dysregulation disorder or FEDD. (I used to wear my heart on my sleeve, but I got THAT fixed)

When impatience collides with FEDD you never quite know what to expect.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have a fabulous life. I have a husband who makes our home an oasis of  peace. He is supportive, loving, and the poster-child for patience. He also has the most amazing poker face ever! My adult children ~ include: the in-laws, the steps, the step-in-laws, and the ex-in-law make my heart swell with pride. I’ve been blessed with ten of the most beautiful grandchildren you could imagine. Yes, indeed I have a wonderful life.

Bonus: For 34 years I’ve worked in the field I was born to work in.

The background. 

For a large part of my life I’ve wished I was someone else. Someone who could hold their cards close to their chest. That person, who when at meetings, is unreadable. I wanted to have the persona of a wise Yoda. I’m not sure exactly when, but somewhere in the journey, I realized that that was not going to happen. To be happy, I needed to embrace who I was. It took awhile, but eventually, and not without effort, I came to realize that for me, impatience with FEDD, is a good thing. The acceptance of my flaws became an embracing of my character, temperament, and personality. I now understand and feel what it means to be comfortable in my own skin. I am grounded.

The problem 

I continue to be frustrated because the wheel of change is so slow in education. Seriously! Why. So. Slow. Frustration moves to anger when common sense is absent – especially in the small stuff. It almost visibly pains me when people site more reasons for things not to work, then actually working at making situations better.  (BTW, they call those people kite-tuggers).

The Conclusion

The pursuit for the ‘best way’ is at the fore of my processing. That hasn’t changed over my life span. As much as we need patience, we need impatience. As much as we need people we can’t read, we need the transparent ones. In essence, there is room for all of us at the table, some types simply take up more space.

As always, I keep doing what I do because I believe, Better Is Possible.

Carol

Coming soon, the sequel – The SpaceTakers. 

This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcome.

