Dreaming Makes Progress

I have a dream. Actually I have many dreams. The problem is that I am far too pragmatic to allow myself to jump headfirst into the deep end and simply let those delicious dreams wash over me. And that my friends, is no fun at all!

In my dream, I have a school that meets the needs of all students. Staff is happily pursuing the new, while keeping the tried and true in perfect balance. In my dream there is a tendency towards perfection. And that’s the rub isn’t it? There is no universal perfect. The best we can aim for is progress.

Most, if not all of the time, learning is messy.  Not in the bring a broom and shovel messy, but in the twisting, fitting, scrunching up your face until you get it, messy. Within the messy, there must be dream room. When our students ask the why questions, we must be prepared to connect the now to the future.

                           If we can’t explain how what we’re teaching at school                                                         will increase dream power, then why ARE we teaching it.

In my dream, school is relevant, engaging, and safe. It’s a place where students and staff can eagerly participate. All involved are encouraged to take risks, make mistakes, celebrate successes, most of the time.

I am pleased to be part of a school district were vision is valued: vision birthed by a collective dreaming.

Vision

Values

PurposeMy hope is that these will be more than words on a wall, that as SD35 educators, we will write these words in our hearts. That we will authentically lead with the purpose of “inspiring all learners to reach their full potential and create a positive legacy for the future”. Or to paraphrase…teach the skills they need to allow them to make their dreams come true.

Until next time, I continue to believe that…better IS possible.

Carol

This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcome.

