We Are Called to be Champions #AprilBlogADay 7

Today, day 7 in the April Blog a Day Challenge has as its prompt a query about us as champions. 

Who’s my champion?

I’ve been blessed to have had many. I’ll mention two.

My grandma (Omie) – she poured over me her unconditional love. There was no safer nor comforting place than sitting beside her watching her soaps on her cosy red couch (and of course, I now have my own red couch)

My piano teacher, Mrs. Joyce Maguire. Mrs. Maguire was more than a piano teacher, she was my mentor and friend. She encouraged me, pushed me, got me gigs. She pulled the best out of me. She proved to me that music does make a difference. Mrs. Maguire passed away several years ago, I know she is missed by many.

There are many more people who’ve touched my life in the role of champion. Too many to list without forgetting to mention some. To them I send my gratitude and love.

Several years ago I wrote a post related to this topic, so rather than repeat myself, I offer to you…

Stealing My Thunder 

originally post on May 11, 2013.

If you know me at all, you’ll know that I live, practice, dare I say,  preach relationship. My work-life experience has confirmed consistently that when a  trust relationship has been established between a student and their teacher, the student will have more freedom to learn. This has always made sense to me, so imagine my delight in discovering that we now have research solidly behind what is a pillar in my practice. (see Dr. Shonert-Riechl’s link below)

My long-suffering husband, my #1 champion has heard me espouse at great length how my success in teaching/counselling/administration is largely based on building and maintaining relationships.

Before pedagogy, before programs, before the latest, greatest gadget, and well before the technology explosion; there was relationship. So it was with much care and considerable caution that he told me that my talk’ was on TED. And then he fled the room.

“WHAT?” “WHO?” “REALLY?” Seriously, I’ve got my outfit all picked out for the day the TED people tap me on the shoulder to give my talk. ***sigh

At first I refused to watch. But curiosity won. I googled until I found it, found her, Rita Pierson. And I watched!  Eight minutes of captivation from a speaker who spoke my truth.

Every Kid Needs a Champion. With humility I acquiesce. She said it better than I could. It’s a message worth spreading. Sadly, Dr. Rita F. Pierson suddenly passed away on Friday, June 18, 2013. The world lost a great champion. 

Community, caring, connection, are all pillars of relationship; they knit us in together in our humanness. These allow us to move forward. These add the joy to learning!

“Teaching and learning should bring joy. How powerful would our world be if we had kids who were not afraid to take risks, who were not afraid to think, and who had a champion? Every child deserves a champion, an adult who will never give up on them, who understands the power of connection, and insists that they become the best they can possibly be.” Rita Pierson

Better is Possible.

1

If you’re interested in the connection between SEL, relationship, and learning, here’s a link to one of Dr. Shonert-Reichl’s talks. Social and Emotional Fitness.

This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We Are Called to be Champions #AprilBlogADay 7

  1. Tim says:

    You’re my champion.

    Like

Comments are welcome.

