What I Really Think – Part 2

My mind is in a muddle. There is much to process.  One of the things I miss most about not going to work every day is the opportunity to verbally exchange ideas with colleagues, students, and parents. As I’ve often said, ours was a chatty school full of verbal processors. My poor dear reverend can only listen so much, and truth be told, he’s not very chatty!

At only 59, it feels a bit strange to have so many options of ‘what to do’ with my life. Surely that is a question for the late adolescent, and then the 20, 30 or even 40 year olds. Most of the time, I am really liking the open-endedness of choosing what I want to do when I want to do it, if that is actually possible? After all, you can only wait so long before bringing in the hoses, picking the walnuts, covering the patio furniture. Eventually the weather will demand you get out there and take care of business. It’s amazing how each of these tasks can consume an entire day. Pacing is so important.

IMG_7898

Jim & I celebrating our  10th anniversary. Still newlyweds!

More seriously, I would say that I am slowly fitting into a new life schedule. Getting up before 6am doesn’t feel like a chore now that I don’t have to rise early. The unrushed solitude of the early morning is by far my favorite part of the day. It’s here I plan, scheme, and rearrange my thoughts. Of course my thoughts bubble up with enthusiasm so much that when the dear Mr. rolls out of bed (I never would have guessed he’s a sleep-in kind of guy) he is greeted by an onslaught of several hours of my thinking. After all I have to talk to someone!

To bring some order to my muddle I decided to do a ‘What I Really Think’ – Part 2      It has a slightly different focus from the original post. (Here’s the original)

At a glance here’s what I think today:

  • I’m not done. I have more to offer the field of education
  • The Self-Regulation Foundational course I’m taking for the next 28 weeks is requiring more than 4 – 6 hours a week (The Mehrit Center)
  • I’m loving the Self-Regulation Foundation course I’m taking
  • A course is to me what travel is to others
  • The cool, crisp November weather in Vernon is more pleasant than I’d remembered
  • I need to find office space for Carol L Perry Counselling Services. Working out of the home isn’t as practical as previously thought
  • 2 year olds are as, if not more, exhausting than a class of thirty 10-year olds
  • I love 2 year olds!
  • Consult, consult, consult
  • Relationship, relationship, relationship
  • A slower pace is not a bad thing
  • Love what you do

Life is good, but different. I am energized by the hope that comes with knowing that, Better is Possible.

The Story of the Log Jam

This entry was posted in Education, Reflections, Retirement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcome.

