#OneWord2016-Next

Almost exactly a year ago I was struggling to come up with a spiffy, original, meaningful, dazzling, totally unique OneWord2015. It had to be the best OneWord ever! After way too much introspection (self-absorption) acceptance became my 2015 word.

January 2016: The Struggle Returns. What will my OneWord 2016 be? Words flit through my head but none settle. This heart rejects them one by one. Perhaps rejection should be the word. I agree, too harsh.

In hindsight 2015 was indeed a year of change making acceptance exactly the right word. We welcomed two new grandsons into our family, a Perry family of four moved to far away Texas, my reverend and I both quit our day jobs (aka retirement2015), and we moved back to Coldstream. Change? Nope, that’s not quite it yet.

DSC_0833.jpg

Solitude

Solitude? Nope. Fresh? Nope. Hope? No. Newness? No, no, no. Not one word is choosing me for 2016. What does keep circling is the two word phrase:

“What’s Next?”

What’s Next? Each new day is a blank slate. Fresh. No plans. Clean page.

Our morning conversations go something like:

Me: What are you going to do today?

Him: Whatever I want.

Me: That’s nice, but what are you going to do today? I need plans, dear husband. At least let me plan your day.

See what I mean? What’s Next?

First snowfall 2015 on driveway

Each morning is like the first footsteps on fresh snow. Where to? What’s next?

Being the rule bound person I am, two words simply won’t work for a OneWord task. Therefore…are you ready for it?

Carol’s OneWord2016 is…

NEXT

 

Happily done for another year!

The Story of the Log Jam

If you’re interested here are links to my previous OneWord posts. OneWord2015Acceptance  OneWord2013/14Enough   OneWord2012 Joy  OneWord2011Joy  OneWord2011JoySummary

To find your tribe go to OneWord365.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #OneWord2016-Next

  1. The idea of being able to do whatever you want, any day of the week, is incredible. But I know you’ve worked hard for that. Enjoy whatever is NEXT this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. patwdoyle11 says:

    I have never done a OneWord. A friend did a word of the day over the holidays on FB, with his why it’s meaningful to him. It was wonderful. As is your “next”. This is the start of your next life-stage! My word, if I had to choose one this year is Joy. “Find the joy in each day” is my new morning mantra. Looks like that was your a few years ago! I need to look at your 2011 summary!

    Like

    • Hi Pat. You got it exactly – the start of my “NEXT” life-stage. Finding one word over the years has been a good way to focus on the year to come. Joy was a struggle…that word stayed with me for 2 years. 🙂
      “Find the joy in each day” is a wonderful morning mantra. Blessings to you in 2016.
      Carol

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome.

