My Son has Cancer #cancersucks

January 27, 2020. “Mom, are you sitting down? Mom, I have colorectal cancer. They saw some masses in my liver, but those are probably nothing.”

My world changed.

Feb 27, 2020. “Mom, the tumours in my liver are the same cancer as in my rectum. It’s stage 4 and they can’t operate right now. I get a PICC line put in tomorrow and I start Chemo on Monday.”

My world changed even more.

My son, my Timmy, has cancer. He’s only 37. He’s a dad, a husband, a son and a son-in-law. He’s a brother, an uncle, a nephew, a grandson, and an ex husband. He’s a teacher, a musician, and a hard worker. He’s creative, he’s kind, but let’s be honest, he’s also been known to drive me crazy! But those are stories for another time.

During the month in between those two calls, we talked almost daily.

That’s not unusual. We talk a lot. During his teaching practicum experiences we spoke often. Mom the teacher, sharing with Tim the pre-service teacher. Little did we know that during both of those practicum experiences, Tim had cancer.

When Tim graduated with his Bachelor of Education I sat on the stage with the Faculty. As Tim crossed the stage I clapped and cheered loudly. The proudest mom in the room. The proudest faculty member on the stage. But little did we know. Tim had cancer.

Tim’s 2019 Graduation.

I am cognizant that this cancer journey is Tim’s story. His to tell as he wishes. As family we respect that. As family what we couldn’t expect was how deeply Tim’s story would impact each of us. From his daughter, who is about to turn 13, to his wife, to his siblings, all are in shock.

Dumbfounded.

Grandma Irmgard, my mom, told us we’d never have to worry about cancer, because “we don’t have cancer in our family! We have heart disease and bad hips!” My mom’s health is in decline and at 85 her memory is sketchy. We won’t bother to tell her she was wrong, that we do indeed have cancer in our family. (We love you mom!)

So far, I’ve shared Tim’s news with few of my friends. Tim’s request was that I not tell many people. Last week he gave me the go ahead to tell who I needed to tell. He does know I blog so I’m positive this is what he meant about telling my friends.

My friends are a stalwart bunch. They pray, they encourage, they laugh, and they cry. On the days I must head out to work, I can feel their prayers surrounding me. I may have tear-rimmed eyes from early morning crying, but I’m getting to work. Thank you dear friends.

My daughter in law, Tim’s wife, Cari, remains steadfast in her support of Tim. She loves him to bits. We may mock their referencing each other as ‘my love’, but I am so glad that they are each others’ love. They need each other. They will need more than each other. I am grateful for the cousins, friends, and colleagues who are standing along side them. Thank you.

The journey ahead will be rough. There is so much unknown and for our family, the unknown is a stressor! As I head into this day, I will rehearse what I know; a practice reinforced by my own beloved husband. Today I know that:

  • Tim is loved
  • Tim has a strong medical team
  • Tim is receiving care quickly
  • We do this day by day, moment by moment
  • Prayer brings peace
  • I don’t have to figure out things that are far down the road. I can focus on now.
  • We have each other.
  • It’s ok to be really, really, really afraid
  • My son has cancer. Today is sad.

When my life gets dark, the hymns of my youth come to mind. How thankful I am for the tradition and comfort of song. The words of this old hymn whisper to my heart today:

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus Christ, my righteousness;

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil
.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
  All other ground is sinking sand.

Getting better is possible, right?

Carol

This entry was posted in Cancer, Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Son has Cancer #cancersucks

  1. Barb says:

    My dear friend. Our God is so amazing so powerful so loving. He is also THE healer. Even though you may not want to or feel it, claim all the promises and truths you know and repeat them. Praise Him for blessings to come and thank Him for all He can and will do because He is in control and you know loves your precious boy more than you possible can….and that’s a lot. This is what I do. We are so blessed we can cry,rant, express all our fears and doubts and shock and all to a very real God. I know these things. February 1st 2020 our world tipped on its axis when our son was sent home from his job in Fort St. John for medical attention. He had a ct scan Sunday. Had an mri Monday and saw a neurologist. Thursday 6th February he saw a neurosurgeon and Tuesday February 11 he was in surgery to remove a brain tumour the size of a lemon. He has lesions on his brain stem that cannot be removed and cancer has been ruled out but MS hasn’t. I’m sharing this because I feel your fear and pain and the myriad of other emotions. You, Tim and all your family will be in my heart and prayers. The power of prayer is incredible 🙏🙏❤️

    Like

    • Oh Barb. Thank you for sharing your own story. Oh my. Our worlds can change in a moment. You and your son will be in my prayers. Sharing our humanity is powerful thing. I am reminded again how God created us for relationships. We need each other. We need HIM. Be well. Carol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. celticrob says:

    Yes, #cancersucks! That’s just the way it is. The uninvited guest who plans to never leave.
    I’m so sorry this has happened to Tim, and you, and the rest of the family. I hope you will find the strength beyond human will to navigate this together.
    God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Irene Makelke-Way says:

    Yes, Carol, getting better is possible. First of all, let me express how sorry I am to hear this news. It is a scary, painful, bewildering, time-consuming, exhausting time. To give you some hope…our dear friend Rich P. who is a skillful, well respected mountain guide, who climbed Mt. Logan with his 15 year old daughter, strong believer,… was diagnosed with colon cancer and it was in his lungs-also stage 4. He is now in remission after months of chemo, surgery, and a ton of prayer support. He and his wife are huge supporters of juicing and he drank organic juices to promote healing many times a day. Yes, there is hope Carol and the LORD is with you-He knows what must/will happen, He loves you all. Eph. 3:14-16 When I think of all this I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit.

    Like

Comments are welcome.